Surviving Week 2 at Google Launch Lab: I've Earned My Stripes & Some LA Sunshine!

Hey there friends,

Hope this finds you thriving and wrapping up another beautiful week!

🚀 Google News Initiative Lab Update I wanted to quickly touch base and share some updates as we close out Week 2 at the Google News Initiative Lab. It’s been nothing short of transformational, and I can feel a shift in the way I perceive and discuss my work. Stay tuned, as you'll soon see these changes reflected in my online presence and digital strategies.

🔥 Next Stop: Future in Review I’m also super stoked as I head down to LA for Future in Review (FIRE) 2023 today. Although I’ll be out of the studio for the week, I invite you to join me on this journey virtually. Follow along on FIRE's social channels for live insights and takeaways from the event!

🎙 In Conversation with Marilyn Wilson I'm delighted to share a fun recent tête-à-tête with the fabulous fashionista Marilyn Wilson. Our chat dives into my return to Vancouver's vibrant arts scene, my photographic adventures with National Geographic, and the evolving nexus of AI, technology, and creativity. Check out our full conversation here.

Here's a little sneak peek:

MW: "Your journey has been eclectic, from web development to photography and now AI. Could you share some pivotal moments?"

KK: "I got my start in web development while attending university and launched an interactive agency in the later 90s. That venture led me to Silicon Valley for a startup stint, before I found myself back in Vancouver to helm a new project—Bryght. Eventually, Bryght got acquired by Raincity Studios, where I took on the role of president.

After some time, I felt the need for another pivot and gravitated towards photography. Over the past decade, my camera has been my backstage pass the world’s most incredible events—TED Talks, Olympic Games, Fashion Week, Burning Man, South by Southwest and more!

When the pandemic hit, it was cue for me to adapt and reinvent. I invested time into learning AI, which has not only redefined how I approach my art but has also evolved into agency specializing in digital engagement & community growth."

Don't miss out on the full interview where I bare my soul about my creative process, current projects, and the synergies between my diverse pursuits.

📸 From Marilyn Wilson Interview: [Photo: Kris Krüg walking the Grammy’s red carpet with Roy Henry Vickers and Chief Ted Walkus at the Grammy Awards]

Thanks for following along friends… wishing you a weekend filled with inspiration and discovery.

Cheers,

✉️ Kris Krüg - Digital Engagement & Community Growth 
🌐 Facebook | Twitter | Threads | LinkedIn | Flickr | YouTube | Instagram

P.S. This week attended a book launch for Alex Tapscott's "Web3" where the central theme was the urgent need for tech to prioritize people over profits. The event inspired deep reflection on how Web3 technologies, such as blockchain, AI, XR, and IoT, could revolutionize trust, ownership.

The UpgradeA Guide to Generative AI for Professional Storytellers
AI Time to ImpactThe best short summaries of the most important breaking news in AI. Subscribers include people at most large tech companies, every leading management consultancy, and a lot of cool startups.